How to Avenge and Look Fabulous Doing It!

avg1

They say you don’t choose whom you fall in love with, and I wanted terribly to hate on the re-launched Avengers title just because I was so saturated with the oversaturation of Avengerism and Marvel in general pop culture. But then I read this comic.

 

Despite the ugly Marvel NOW! branding on the cover, Avengers #1 is pretty dope. My first impression was that they needed to drop the ‘W’ from the brand because Marvel really has turned into one of those embodiments of human greed. Okay, so it’s not the worst thing out there, but holy fuck, do they piss me off sometimes. Like for instance on the cover of this book. Why in the blue fuck is Wasp so camouflaged? At first glance, I clocked the wings, but her face almost doubles as a warped bit of Vision’s abdomen. And don’t get me started on Hercules’ pose. Yes, Hercules is part of the Avengers now. Yay? I can’t decide. What I do know is that I think I’ve had enough of these Alex Ross covers. We get it dude, you’re talented “af,” but Marvel’s watered down your epic cache with the volume of Ross covers across some of it’s more prominent titles. I was, however, solaced in the knowledge that Mark Waid was steering the good ship Avengers.

avg2

Having Waid on the creative team is like having Kobe Bryant in your corner when you play ball against your buddies – a sure thing. And quite early on in the book Waid highlights his comic heavyweight status with an old Avengers combo, upgraded for the new cast. When you’re talking about what is arguably Marvel Comics’ hottest superhero team right now, it only made sense to have superstar talents producing the book. Waid’s words gave the art team of Mike del Mundo and Marco D’alfonso plenty to expand on and their contributions have probably brought in more fans and pleased existing ones too. Since I’m a nitpicky ne’r-do-well I’ll just crib by saying that their treatment of Peter Parker didn’t do it for me. We are pretty much given the Peter Parker of his high school years, instead of the seasoned photojournalist who still can’t catch a break. His goof-in-a-business-suit routine jelled with his persona, which is something I love-hated about this book. It’s infinitely better than the suave, composed and arrogant Tony Stark (in the role of Avengers financial patron). The turd-like design of the Quinjet, meanwhile, ought to have been given a re-working if deadlines permitted it.

avg3

As I turned the pages, I realised I was heading down appreciation avenue despite my expectations. I’m in the ”Marvel? –meh!” stage of comic book appreciation and awareness, but the way this story was told, and the arrangement of the eerie ending panels just made me realise that when in the presence of giants, always watch your step! This book deserves all the #respect and accolades it gets, because this is pretty faultless…at least for a Marvel comic.

Leave a Reply

